

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank of Australia ABN 48 123 123 124 Marketing and Communications GPO Box 2719 Sydney NSW 1155 www.commbank.com.au



CBA COMPLETES ACQUISITION OF BANKWEST AND ST ANDREW'S

Sydney 19 December 2008: Commonwealth Bank of Australia announces the completion of the acquisition of the Bank of Western Australia Limited (Bankwest) and St Andrew's Australia Pty Limited (St Andrew's).

As indicated in the Bank's announcement dated 18 December 2008, Jon Sutton was appointed as Managing Director of Bankwest, with Ian Mackenzie continuing as Chairman.

Other Bankwest Board Members are:

Brian Jamieson Independent Director Jenny Seabrook Independent Director

Garry Mackrell Group Executive, Commonwealth Bank of Australia

Sue Wilson General Counsel, Bankwest

ENDS

For more information contact:

Bryan Fitzgerald Head of Communications Telephone (02) 9378 2663

